Nebraska Writers Guild

The following entities have sponsored Nebraska Writers Guild activities during Past 12 Months:



Watch for an annoucement of the opening of submissions for the 2018 anthology.

Greater Nebraska Writers Conference Registration should be posted during July.

It is scheduled for October 12-13, 2018, in Aurora, NE.


Cultural Integration on the High Plains

Poetry Workshop,Poetry Contest Award

and Open Mic

July 14, 2018

2:30 pm in the Chadron Public Librar​y

Click Here For Full Information


Nebraska Writers Guild 2018 Poetry Retreat

November 3, 2018

Registration Now Open

Lied Lodge and Conference Center

Click Here For Information and to Register



  "Voices from the Plains"

                   60 authors and 68 entries

     Click HERE for List of Locations for Readings/Book Signings

    Click Here for List of Authors by Location

    Click Here to Purchase



Nebraska Writers Guild Memberships

Not a member, click here to join 

We would love to have you!

Members: renew membership here - renewal! 



A Non-Profit 501(c)3 Corporation, the Nebraska Writers Guild, Inc., is a professional association for writers of all disciplines, literary agents, educators, publishers, librarians, and youth who are interested in promoting the craft of writing in Nebraska. The organization offers aspiring writers, award-winning authors, and everyone in between a network for improving their craft.

Founded in 1925, NWG is one of the oldest continuous writers' organizations in the country. It counts among its charter members Bess Streeter Aldrich, Dorothy Canfield Fisher, John G. Neihardt, Louise Pound, Mari Sandoz, and A.E. Sheldon (chair of the Nebraska State Historical Society). Residing in New York, Willa Cather was one of the first members to sign up. In its first year, two members of the guild were included in the Saturday Review of Literature's list of the ten writers most representative of American life. Yes, these are hallowed halls and we have incredible respect for our past ... and enthusiasm for our future.